Tax Law

Tax law covers regulatory, common-law, constitutional, and statutory rules that are applicable to taxation. Before 1776, the colonies in America were subject to taxes charged by the United Kingdom. Under the Articles of Confederation the federal government was not allowed to tax with all of the power belonging to the states.